26 July 2017- Day One

Image may contain: outdoor
Auschwitz I, 26 July 2017

One year ago today, World Youth Day Krakow began! I am still in awe at the chance to have been able to attend and at the experiences that I had!!

Day 1 of reflecting on WYD: A year ago today, I stepped foot in Auschwitz. While I’m sure it was the shortened version of the usual tour for the WYD pilgrims, I’m not sure how willing I am to step foot in that place again if I ever visit Poland again. After reading last year’s memories on the place (see below), I now have chills recalling the heaviness of the atmosphere and the limits of human cruelty.

Today, I am thankful for the inexhaustible Mercy of God, especially in His Presence in the Blessed Sacrament and in the Sacrament of Reconciliation, which I was able to receive earlier this evening.

My prayer today is this: Despite all that is going on in our world today, may we find ourselves worthy of the words we recite in the Our Father: “…forgive us our trespasses AS WE FORGIVE THOSE WHO TRESPASS AGAINST US….”

Leave a Reply

