Introductions

World Youth Day 2016

Hello!

My name is Kevin Tran, and I am a senior at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte. I am double majoring in philosophy and religious studies, and, with these majors, I hope to continue my education in theology. But the rest is by the grace of God.

Speaking of which….

Purpose

I am Roman Catholic, and I made this blog for my Lenten experience this year in the hopes of bettering my prayer life. This blog will be my medium to reflect on Sunday Mass readings, and I hope to share these with you all. My two disclaimers for this blog are:

  1. This blog is for my own personal reflections, and, thus, are my interpretations and/or reactions to the readings for the week. As such, I hope to be able to speak freely on this blog about my own personal feelings, so if it starts getting mushy (which I don’t plan on that happening, but should it happen), that’s why.
  2. I do not claim any kind of Church authority. While many of my friends know that I am praying about my vocation, I’m no clergy, so don’t be going around saying, “Well, Kevin wrote this and that.” Should I happen to be completely wrong and you spot it, please correct me; I am always willing to learn more about the faith and what she teaches.

Meaning Behind the Title

The title of this blog is Caritas Christi Urget Nos. This title is inspired by my local bishop’s motto, which, I’m sure, is derived from 2 Corinthians 5:14-15, which says, “The love of Christ impels us, once we have come to the conviction that one died for all; therefore, all have died.”

To focus on the first half, I believe that Christ’s love did urge me to start this: For a personal benefit, my desire to fall deeper in love with Christ and Holy Mother Church led to my doing this; in this way, and, for those whom I share these blogs with, I hope that my reflections urge you all to do something similar to develop/maintain your own relationships with Christ.

 

I hope this Lenten season urges you into deeper prayer, and, as Pope St. Leo the Great wrote, that whatever you chose to abstain from helps you to renounce sin and propel you into the Easter season, the source of our joy. I also hope that the habits you and I develop in these next 38 days will live on everyday, inspiring a symbolic daily baptism.

I hope that the love of Christ urges you as it urges me.

“The grace of our Lord Jesus Christ and the love of God and the fellowship of the Holy Spirit be with you all.” (2 Cor 13:13)

Edit: This post was originally published on my old Blogger website on 3/3/2017 (hence the Lenten season theme).

Leave a Reply

